Jan 13

Province of Ontario – Mini Cabinet Shuffle

January 12, 2017

Seniors, Small Businesses and Women’s Issues Among Changes to Ontario Cabinet

Premier Kathleen Wynne announced changes today to her cabinet that will help improve the quality of life of Ontario seniors, support the growth of small businesses and advance gender equality.

Following the retirement from provincial politics of David Orazietti, MPP for Sault Ste. Marie, Marie-France Lalonde moves from Minister of Government and Consumer Services to become Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services. MPP Lalonde will continue to serve as Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs.

To ensure small businesses are able to compete, grow and create jobs, Jeff Leal is appointed Minister Responsible for Small Business, in addition to retaining his previous role as Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.

Indira Naidoo-Harris takes on the new portfolio of Minister of Women’s Issues. She will lead the implementation of the province’s gender wage gap strategy and coordinate ongoing efforts to build gender equality across Ontario. To ensure the government is helping give every young person in Ontario the best possible start in life and creates 100,000 new licensed child care spaces within five years, and building on her previous role as Associate Minister of Education (Early Years and Child Care), MPP Naidoo-Harris will also serve as Minister Responsible for Early Years and Child Care.

Dipika Damerla, previously Minister Responsible for Seniors, becomes Minister of Seniors Affairs, leading a new, standalone ministry. She will work with partners to promote age-friendly communities and improve the quality of life of Ontario seniors.

Tracy MacCharles becomes Minister of Government and Consumer Services and retains her role as Minister Responsible for Accessibility.

The changes announced today reduce the size of Ontario’s cabinet to 29 ministers. A swearing-in ceremony was held at Queen’s Park this morning.