Jun 14

New $10 Commemorative Note Now Available

To celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation, the Bank of Canada has issued a commemorative $10 bill. The note, which was put into circulation on June 1st, 2017, highlights our country with a unique design depicting our history, land, and culture.

Four Canadians who played significant roles in the country’s parliamentary history are portrayed on the front of the note: Sir John A. Macdonald, Canada’s first prime minister; Sir George-Étienne Cartier, a principal architect of Canadian federalism; Agnes Macphail, the first woman elected to the Canadian House of Commons; and James Gladstone, or Akay-na-muka (his Blackfoot name), Canada’s first senator of First Nations origin.

The design also incorporates other cultural elements: a reproduction of the artwork Owl’s Bouquet by world-renowned Inuit artist Kenojuak Ashevak and the distinctive arrow sash pattern, an important symbol of the Métis nation that also pays homage to the French-Canadian voyageurs of the 18th century.

The reverse of the note features the rugged splendour of Canada’s lands and landscapes: the Lions/Twin Sisters (Western Canada), a wheat field (Prairie provinces), the Canadian Shield (Central Canada), Cape Bonavista (Eastern Canada) and the northern lights (Northern Canada).

Only 40 million notes are being issued—roughly one for every Canadian, so get yours from your financial institution while you can!


Read the press release here.

Explore the new note here.

See the new notes security features: